Any Georgia resident may apply for a marriage license in any county in Georgia. However, if neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, you may only obtain your marriage license in the county where the ceremony is performed. Both parties wanting to obtain a marriage license must be at least 18 years old. We require both applicants to be present to sign the application. You must present satisfactory photo identification. If previously married a copy of the final judgement and decree of divorce signed by the judge must be provided.
The marriage license fee is $66.00. Couples who provide a Certificate of Completion for a Qualified Premarital Education Program as required by Official Code of Georgia Section 19-3-30.1 pay $26.00.
We accept Cash, Check, Money Order and Visa or Master Card. If paying with cash, please have the exact amount of change
Blood tests are no longer a requirement in Georgia. The Probate Judge will perform marriage ceremonies upon request. If you want the Probate Judge to perform the marriage ceremony it is necessary to call and make arrangements to ensure availability of the Judge and facilities.
SAVE PROCESSING TIME BY SUBMITTING YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION ONLINE. CLICK HERE: georgiaprobaterecords.com OR YOU CAN APPLY IN-PERSON.
Once you submit the application, you will receive a confirmation number which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court within two (2) weeks of completing the application, where you will sign and complete the application process.
*** PLEASE NOTE THAT DURING THIS TIME OF THE COVID-19 CRISIS, WE ARE REQUIRING ALL APPLICANTS TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT BY CALLING THE PROBATE COURT AT 706-485-5476. ***
Georgia Firearms Licenses are issued in the Probate Court pursuant to Official Code of Georgia Section 16-11-129. Unless military service is confirmed, an applicant must be at least 21 years of age and a legal resident of Putnam County. A photo ID is required. You will be required to go to the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office to be fingerprinted. Applicants are not required to be fingerprinted so long as they have a current firearms license that is not expired by more than 30 days. If you have been pardoned or had your rights restored, please be sure to bring a copy of the documentation with you. Also, if you are not a U.S. Citizen or are a Non-Immigrant (temporarily admitted) alien, please bring appropriate documentation of your lawful presence in the U.S.
SAVE PROCESSING TIME BY SUBMITTING YOUR GEORGIA WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION ONLINE. CLICK HERE: georgiaprobaterecords.com OR YOU CAN APPLY IN-PERSON BY CONTACTING OUR OFFICE FOR AN APPOINTMENT.
Once you submit the application, you will receive a confirmation number which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court within two (2) weeks of completing the application, where you will complete the application process and have your picture taken. You will also need to bring your photo ID that reflects your current address and the appropriate fees which are as follows:
- New applicants or applicants outside the renewal date: $78.00
- Renewal: $30.00
- Retired Law Enforcement: $7.00
- Reprint: $6.00
We accept Cash, Check, Money Order and Visa or Master Card. If paying with cash, please have the exact amount of change.
Fingerprinting is performed on the following dates and times:
Monday 9:00am - 2:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am - 2:00pm
Friday 12:00 - 4:00pm
Saturday 12:00 - 4:00pm
The Sheriff’s Office will return the application to the Probate Court. The Probate Court will call all qualified applicants upon receiving criminal history check.